fbpx

小型企业的公关策略

小型企业的公关策略

公共关系或公关策略并非大公司独有。 小型企业也可以使用 PR 来发展他们的业务。 事实上,小型企业可以通过接触新客户而受益更多。 小企业面临的最大挑战之一是提高意识。 公关有助于创造嗡嗡声和口耳相传,让更多客户了解您的独特产品或服务。 但是小企业如何通过公关获得这种曝光度呢? 本文将带您了解 7 种简单的公关策略,让人们谈论您的业务。

 

男子坐在长凳上,面前是报纸,为小型企业制定公关策略

什么是公共关系?

你可能听说过这个词 任何宣传都是好的宣传. 嗯,这当然值得商榷。 只需询问刚刚收到差评的餐厅老板是否满意。 但是,即使您认同这种信念,可以肯定地说,大多数企业更愿意进行良好的宣传而不是负面的宣传。 这就是公共关系或公关的用武之地。

维基百科将公共关系定义为“有意管理个人或组织与公众之间信息的发布和传播以影响公众认知的做法”。 作为企业的企业主或营销经理,您在公关方面有特定的工作要做。 它是创建信息/故事,定义谁需要听到它,并设计一个策略来将它传递给他们。 向公众传播信息的媒介可能会有所不同。 它可以是传统出版物,例如报纸或杂志、在线出版物、电视新闻、广播或社交媒体。

为什么公关策略很重要?

PR 是营销工具箱中的一个工具。 但是许多企业主甚至营销人员都很难利用它的力量,因为它比其他营销工具更棘手。 公关需要一点策略,一点讲故事,一点你认识的人,一点运气。 但是,如果您能够将它包含在您的业务组合中,这是提高您的业务和驾驶意识的好方法 客户获取。  公关可以让您接触到其他方式可能无法接触到的新受众。 它可以以其他营销工作无法做到的方式产生口耳相传和可信度。

另一个考虑 PR 的原因是它的成本低。 公关一般没有营销成本。 如果有与之相关的成本,那么它很可能不是公关,而是广告或促销。

也就是说,要在公共关系方面取得成功,可能会很耗时。 无论是您的时间还是您团队成员的时间,时间就是金钱,因此请务必将其纳入您的整体营销计划中。 当您阅读以下策略时,请考虑如何在不分心的情况下腾出时间来思考您的策略、故事以及将故事讲出来的策略。 租用临时办公空间,例如 共享办公空间,可以为您提供所需的时间和注意力非常有帮助。

开始的公关策略

虽然获得公关曝光的方法有很多很多,但在这里,我们专注于入门方面最基本和最简单的方法。 如果您对更多公关策略和想法感兴趣,可以查看这些 101 种公共关系策略、技巧和示例。

1. 创造一个独特的故事

为了获得媒体、公众人物、影响者或其他公共媒体的关注,您必须有一个人们想要谈论和听到的独特故事。 这可能是一个关于您的业务/产品/服务如何帮助某人的感人故事。 这可能是关于您的企业如何处于劣势,但坚持成功。 或者,您的业务是如何在面临严峻挑战时崛起的。 有许多不同类型的故事可能会引起人们的兴趣,但它必须是真实的并且需要吸引观众。 你不能仅仅为了一个故事而编造一个故事。 始终密切关注这些可以用语言表达出来并与公众分享的情况。

2. 成为专家

男子坐在桌子旁,拿着麦克风为小型企业制定公关策略

另一种吸引公众注意力的方法是向您的听众提供专家建议或信息。 您可以发布提示列表或指南以做某事或关于某个主题的文章。 例如,如果您是一名财务顾问,您可以提供摆脱债务的 10 个步骤。 如果您是房地产经纪人,您可以提供出售房屋的技巧。 其中许多想法也应包含在总体 内容策略. 确保您正在利用您的专业知识并利用它为您的受众和客户提供内容。 成为您所在领域的专家并提供有用的信息是为其他出版物做出贡献、成为演讲嘉宾或发表文章的好方法。

3. 做慈善

将您的商品或服务捐赠给有需要的人不仅是一种善意和体面的事情,而且还可能是一种获得宣传的方式。 从本地开始,看看哪里有机会在您的社区中提供帮助。 让其他人知道您正在寻求支持他们和其他本地需求。 与任何当地商业协会或网络联系。 您要确保确定一个机会,您的捐赠将真正产生影响。

4. 在活动中发言

男子在舞台上为小型企业的公关战略演讲

公关策略列表中的下一个是寻找您的专业知识可能有价值的机会。 无论您从事什么业务,您都拥有可以使某人受益的专业知识。 您可以从小处开始,以获得演讲经验。 例如,您可以在自己的社区内寻找演讲活动,例如商业协会、俱乐部、妈妈团体、健身组织、学校等。 一旦您对在公共场合演讲感到自在,您就可以开始寻找更大的机会。 这可能是会议、离线或在线活动、播客或各种公司或团体会议。 寻找可以与观众谈论可以帮助他们的话题的地方。

5。 社交媒体

带有社交媒体应用程序的电话,适用于小型企业的公关策略

谈到社交媒体,有很多不同的渠道可供探索。 您可以创建一个独特的社交媒体帖子或视频,可以传播开来。 或者,您可以找有影响力的人分享您的产品或服务。 专注于一个您拥有越来越多的追随者、积极参与并让观众参与其中的社交媒体应用程序。确保这是您整体社交媒体策略的一部分,以确保品牌一致性。

6. 与影响者和媒体的网络

尽可能尝试与媒体联系人和影响者建立联系。 当需要与公众分享信息时,建立关系可以为您提供帮助。 不要害怕经常发送您的故事或信息,因为它可能不会立即发布。 一旦你有了你的故事,把它提炼成一个电梯演讲,你可以尽可能分享。 一定要利用任何 合作或伙伴关系 你也有。

7. 创建媒体工具包

最后,确保您准备好媒体工具包。 媒体工具包开始时可以简短而温馨。 它需要包含您的业务、产品或服务的全部内容。 确保概述您的客户针对谁,他们的需求是什么,以及您如何为他们服务。 突出显示说明您成功的任何关键指标,包括销售、分销、社交媒体和其他著名的出版物和/或奖项。

反复利用公关

一旦获得宣传,就很难复制,因此请确保尽可能多地利用它! 在电子邮件通讯中将其分享到社交媒体渠道,并将其发送给您网络中的其他人。 最后一定要关注给你宣传的媒体渠道,看看以后有没有更多的机会!

公关策略可以发挥作用

制定和执行公关策略并不是一蹴而就的。 在您看到显着回报之前,通常需要进行多次反复试验。 但是,通过正确的故事,您可以真正产生重大影响,并以较低的成本吸引更多客户。

请务必查看这些其他文章,了解如何加强您的营销工作并吸引新客户。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

fbpx

PR Strategies for Small Businesses

PR Strategies for small businesses

Public Relations, or PR, strategies are not exclusive to large Corporations.  Small Business can use PR to grow their business as well. In fact, small businesses can benefit even more by gaining exposure to new customers.  One of the biggest challenges for small businesses is to create awareness.  PR can help to create buzz and word of mouth so more customers become aware of your unique product or service. But how do small businesses get that exposure through PR? This article will walk you through 7 simple PR strategies to get people talking about your business.

 

Man sitting on bench with newspaper in front of face for PR Strategies for small businesses

What is Public Relations?

You have likely heard the phrase any publicity is good publicity.  Well, this is certainly debatable.  Just ask the restaurant owner that just received a bad food review if they are happy.  But even if you subscribe to this belief, it’s safe to say that most businesses would prefer good publicity over negative.  This is where Public Relations, or PR, comes in.

Wikipedia defines Public Relations as “the practice of deliberately managing the release and spread of information between an individual or an organization and the public in order to affect the public perception.”  As a business owner or manager of marketing for a business, you have a specific job to do when it comes to PR.  It’s to create the information/story, define who needs to hear it, and devise a strategy for getting it to them.  The medium that information, is disseminated out to the public through can vary.  It can be a traditional publication, such as newspaper or magazine, an online publication, TV news, radio, or social media.

Why are PR Strategies Important?

PR is a tool in your Marketing toolbox.  But many business owners and even marketers have a difficult harnessing it’s power as it’s trickier than other marketing tools.  PR requires a bit of strategy, a bit of storytelling, a bit of who you know, and a bit of luck.  But, if you are able to include it in the mix for your business, it’s a great way to raising awareness for your business and driving Customer Acquisition.  PR can give you reach to new audiences you might not reach otherwise.  It can generate word of mouth and credibility in ways that other marketing efforts cannot.

Another reason to consider PR is that it’s low cost.  PR is generally has no marketing cost.  If there is a cost associated with it, then it likely is not PR, but rather advertising or promotion.

That said, to be successful with public relations, it can be time-consuming.  Whether it’s your time or that of a member of your team, that time is money, so make sure to weigh that into your overall marketing plan.  As you read through the strategies below, think about how you will carve out time without distractions to think through your strategy, your story, and the tactics for getting the story out.  Renting a temporary office space, such as a Coworking Space, can be very helpful in giving you the time and focus you will need for this.

PR Strategies to Get Started

While there are many, many ways to gaining PR exposure, here we focus on the most fundamental and simplest in terms of getting started.  If you are interested in more PR tactics and ideas, you can check out these 101 Public Relations Strategies, Tips, and Examples.

1. Create a Unique Story

In order to get picked up by the media, public personality, influencer, or other public medium, you will have to have a unique story that people want to talk about and hear about.  This can be a heartwarming story about how your business/product/service helped someone.  It could be about how your business was the underdog, but persevered to success.  Or perhaps how your business has risen in the face of severe challenges.  There are many different types of stories that could be of interest, but it must be authentic and needs to appeal to your audience.  You cannot manufacture a story just for the sake of a story.  Always keep an eye out for these circumstances that can be brought to life in words and shared with the public.

2. Be the Expert

Man sitting at table with microphone for PR Strategies for small businesses

Another way to garner public attention is to provide expert advice or information to your audience.  You could publish a list of tips or a guide to doing something or an article on a certain topic.  For example, if you are a financial consultant, you could provide the 10 Steps for getting out of debt.  If you are a realestate broker, you could provide tips for selling your home.  Many of these ideas should also be included in an overall content strategy.  Be sure that you are harnessing your expertise and using that to provide content to your audience and customers.  Being the Expert in your field with helpful information is a great way to contribute to other publications, become a guest speaker, or have an article published.

3. Be Charitable

Donating your goods or services to those in need is not only a kind and decent thing to do, but it may also be a way to gain publicity.  Start local and see where the opportunities are to help within your community.  Let others know that you are looking to support them and other local needs.  Check in with any local business associations or networks.  You want to make sure that you identify an opportunity where your donation will really make an impact.

4. Speak at events

Man speaking on stage for PR Strategies for small businesses

The next in the list of PR strategies is to look for opportunities where your expertise can be of value.  Whatever your business is, you have an expertise that can benefit someone.  You can start small to gain experience with speaking.  For example, you can look within your own community for speaking engagements, such as business associations, clubs, Moms groups, fitness organizations, schools, and more.  Once you are comfortable with speaking in public, you can start to look at bigger opportunities.  This might be conferences, offline or online events, podcasts, or various corporate or group meetings.  Look for places where you can speak to an audience about a topic that can help them.

5. Social Media

Phone with social media apps for PR Strategies for small businesses

When it comes to social media, there are so many different channels to explore.  You can creating a unique social media post or video that can go viral.  Or you can look to influencers to share about your product or service.  Focus on one social media app that you have a growing following, are actively engaging in, and have audience engagement in.  Make sure this is part of your overall social media strategy to ensure brand consistency.

6. Network with Influencers and Media

As much as possible, try to connect with media contacts and influencers.  Having relationships can help you when it’s time to share information with the public.  Don’t be afraid to send your story or information out often, as it may not get published right away.  Once you have your story, distill it down into an elevator pitch that you can share whenever possible.  Be sure to tap into any collaborations or partnerships that you have as well.

7. Create a Media Kit

Finally, make sure that you have a media kit ready to go.  The media kit can be short and sweet to begin with.  It needs to have what your business, product, or services are all about.  Make sure to outline who your customer target it, what their need is, and how you serve them.  Highlight any key metrics that illustrate your success, including sales, distribution, social media, and other notable publications and/or awards.

Leverage PR Over and Over

Once you gain publicity, it can be difficult to replicate, so make sure to leverage it as much as possible! Share it to social media channels, in Email Newsletters, and send it to others in your Network.  Finally, be sure to follow up with the media channel that gave you the publicity to see if there are more opportunities in the future!

PR Strategies Can Make a Difference

Developing and executing on PR strategies is not a slam dunk.  There is often much trial and error before you see significant returns.  However, with the right story you can truly make a significant impact and reach more customers at a low cost.

Be sure to check out these other articles for ways to strengthen your marketing efforts and reach new customers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *