fbpx

为您的企业创建在线商店

每天都有更多的商店在网上开张,更多的产品在网上销售,更多的购买通过电子商务进行。 那么,您的企业在电子商务方面处于什么位置? 如果您正在阅读本文,您可能已经决定开始在线销售产品。 然而,仅仅因为今天在线销售比以往任何时候都容易,并不意味着它很容易。 开始您的业务,然后创建一个在线商店可能会让人不知所措且耗费精力。

如果您还没有建立您的业务,请务必阅读 开展电子商务业务的步骤, 第一的。 这将引导您完成启动业务和确定业务模式的步骤。 一旦您建立了业务,就可以创建您的商店了!

你应该开一家网上商店吗?

估计到年 2040 年,所有采购的 95% 将通过电子商务。 因此,简而言之,如果您打算将任何产品作为主要业务收入进行销售,那么是的,您应该开设一家在线商店。

但是,有很多企业通过其他方式获利,例如服务或广告。 对于这些业务,仍然可能有机会通过在线商店获得二次业务收入。 在这些情况下,出售的产品旨在支持主要业务目标。 例如,如果您是一名财务顾问,也许您可​​以在线销售产品会计应用程序或财务指导书籍。 如果您是美食博主,则可以在线销售烹饪用具或工具。 或者,如果您有一家餐厅,您可以出售印有您名字的礼品卡或 T 恤。

然而,并非所有企业都应该开设在线商店。 牙医没有必要开设在线商店来销售牙刷。 商店产生的收入必须值得为创建和维护它而投入的时间和金钱。 或者,销售的产品必须真正为您的线下客户增加价值。

无论在线商店产生您的主要收入还是次要收入,以下步骤仍然适用。

创建在线商店的步骤

如前所述,本文假设您拥有现有业务或至少已开始设置业务的过程。 如果没有,请务必阅读 开展电子商务业务的步骤. 虽然创建在线商店有很多步骤,但这些是指导您的过程的首要步骤。

1. 确定产品和库存模型

产品

开始创建在线商店之前的第一步是确定要销售的产品类型以及如何管理库存。 在文章中 启动电子商务业务的步骤, 我们更深入地回顾了不同的电子商务商业模式。 因此,如果需要,请返回查看这些内容。

据估计,全球有 12-24 百万个电子商务网站。 然而,这些网站中只有不到 1 万个网站年销售额超过 1,000 美元,因此还有很大的增长空间(WPForms)。 也就是说,在竞争如此激烈的情况下,谨慎行事 开始缩小产品范围 – 成为利基领域的专家。 这是因为为特定主题吸引流量更容易。 产品越具体,每个来到您商店的客户购买的可能性就越大。

需要帮助确定要销售哪些产品? 看看这篇文章的提示 识别有利可图的产品 卖。

库存

在库存方面,您需要确定是要使用代发货还是自己携带库存。 如果您不熟悉在线销售产品,则更容易开始 运输机. 在此模型中,您的企业作为其他供应商产品的商店运营。 客户来到您的在线商店,下订单,向您发送付款,然后将订单和付款转发给供应商以完成。 如果您不制造自己的产品,则可以通过不同的电子商务平台轻松设置,例如 Shopify.

此模式的间接成本较低,因为您不需要携带库存,但由于您是此模式中的第三方,因此您的利润率低于其他模式。 这种模式对产品本身或客户收到产品所需的时间也有有限的控制。 这是因为您从未真正看到实物产品或将其放入运输箱中,这一切都由供应商处理。

在某些情况下 携带库存 可能对你更好。 如果您已经有足够的空间来存放库存,并且可以通过预先购买库存获得更大的利润,那么这可能是一个不错的选择。 通常,对于小型或新企业,如果您要为通用产品(例如 T 恤或手提袋)打上品牌,这是一个不错的选择。 携带库存还可以让您更好地控制和监督产品质量。

2. 选择您的商店类型

购买按钮

如果您的产品线非常有限或产品仅在有限的时间内可用,您可能只想在您的网站或登录页面中嵌入一个购买按钮。 许多支付网关提供商都提供此功能,例如 Paypal 或 Stripe。 你可以阅读更多关于 支付网关在这里.

加盟链接

附属链接是您的企业独有的特殊链接,指向其他供应商页面上的产品。 当有人点击链接并从供应商处购买时,将该买家带到他们面前的唯一链接表明您将获得指定的佣金。 为了获得附属链接,您需要与供应商直接或间接通过第三方附属网络签订协议。 亚马逊是以这种方式链接产品的最受欢迎的联盟计划之一。 然而,他们提供的佣金相当低。

如果 (a) 您只是想为客户提供价值而不是赚取高收入,或者 (b) 您专注于一些可以推广的高佣金联盟合作伙伴,则附属链接最有意义。

在线商店构建器平台

最后,电子商务企业建立在线商店的最常见方式是与平台提供商合作。 电子商务平台为您提供模板和工具来构建您的在线商店,而无需任何编码或网页设计技能。 第 3 步对此进行了更多讨论。

3. 选择店铺平台

在为您的在线商店选择平台时,需要考虑许多变量。 确保做你的研究。 查看竞争网站和其他在线商店,看看您喜欢哪些。 要详细查看可用的顶级平台以了解最适合您的平台,您可以阅读这篇关于 8 个最佳电子商务平台.

建立在线商店时要考虑的平台

4. 了解州税和其他法律要求

在开始销售产品之前,您需要确定您的销售税和其他法律要求。 您还需要在您的企业经营所在的州获得销售税注册 ID。 查看您需要向州税务部门提交销售税的频率。

有某些类型的商业活动需要联邦或州的许可证,执照和/或其他文书才能合法运作。 一些示例包括医疗实践,律师实践,饭店,某些类型的建筑公司等。 所有参与联邦政府监管活动的企业都必须获得联邦许可证。

有关联邦营业执照的信息,请访问 小型企业管理网站。

5.付款网关

获得销售税 ID 后,您可以选择支付网关提供商。 根据您为商店选择的在线商店平台,您可能会向您推荐支付网关提供商。 如果没有,有很多可供选择。

各种金融服务公司都提供在线支付网关。 支付网关是一种在线商家服务软件应用程序,提供商可以在其中授权信用卡或直接支付。 这允许在各种不同的卖家和买家之间进行无缝的在线交易。

一定要阅读 前5个付款网关.

客户获取

创建在线商店是开始。 一旦您的商店启动并运行,就该制定客户获取计划了。 不幸的是,如果你只是建造它,它们就会来,这是不正确的。 您必须找到潜在客户并吸引他们来您的商店。 将营销策略和执行计划放在一起以提高您的商店的知名度和试用是很重要的。 如果你没有这方面的经验,你可以找到这篇有用的文章 获取客户的 5 个营销要素。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

fbpx

Creating an Online Store for Your Business

Every day, more stores open online, more products are sold online, and more purchases are made through ecommerce.  So, where does your business reside in terms of ecommerce?  If you’re reading this article, you’ve likely made the decision to start selling products online.  However, just because it’s easier today than ever before to sell online, does not mean it’s easy.  Starting your business, and then creating an online store can be overwhelming and consuming.

If you have not yet set up your business, be sure to read Steps for Starting an Ecommerce Business, first. This will take you through the steps to start your business and determining your business model.  Once you have your Business set up, it’s time to create your store!

Should you start an online store?

It’s estimated that by the year 2040, 95% of all purchases will be through eCommerce.  So, in short, if you are planning to sell any products as a primary business income, then yes, you should start an online store.

However, there are a great many businesses that are monetized through other means, such as services or advertising.  For these business, there still might be an opportunity for secondary business income through an online store.  In these cases, products sold are intended to support the primary business objective.  For example, if you are a financial consultant, perhaps you could sell products accounting apps or financial coaching books online.  If you are a Food Blogger, you could sell cooking appliances or tools online.  Or if you have a restaurant, you could sell gift cards or t-shirts with your name on them.

Not all businesses should open an online store, however.  A Dentist should not necessary start an online store to sell toothbrushes.  The income generated from the store must be worth the time and money invested to create and maintain it.  Or, the products sold must really add value for your offline customers.

Regardless of whether the online store generates your primary or secondary income, the steps covered below still pertain.

Steps to creating an online store

As mentioned earlier, this article assumes that you have an existing business or at least have started the process to set up your business.  If not, be sure to read Steps for Starting an Ecommerce Business.  While there are many steps to creating an online store, these are the overarching ones to guide your process.

1.  Determine Products & Inventory Model

Products

The first step before you start creating an online store, is to determine what types of products you want to sell and how you will manage inventory.  In the article Steps to Starting Your Ecommerce Business, we review the different Ecommerce Business Models in more depth.  So, go back to review those if needed.

It’s estimated that there are 12-24 million eCommerce sites across the entire globe. However, less than 1M of these sites sell more than $1,000/year, so there’s tons of room for growth (WPForms).  That said, with so much competition out there, it’s prudent to start narrow in product scope – be the expert in a niche.  That’s because it’s easier to drive traffic for a specific topic.  The more specific the products, the more likely that every customer that comes to your store is to purchase.

Need help determining what products to sell? Check out this article with tips for Identifying Profitable Products to sell.

Inventory

In terms of inventory, you will need to determine whether you want to employ drop shipping or carry inventory yourself.  If you are new to selling products online, it is much easier to start with drop shipping.  In this model, your business operates as the store for other suppliers’ products.  Customers come to your online store, place the order, send you payment, and then the orders and payment are forwarded to suppliers to fulfill.  If you are not manufacturing your own products, than this is easy to set up through different ecommerce platforms, such as Shopify.

This model has low overhead costs as you do not need to carry inventory, but because you are a third party in this model, your profit margins are lower than other models.   This model also has limited control over the products themselves or the time it takes for customers to receive them.  This is because you never actually see the physical product or place it in a shipping box, this is all handled by the suppolers.

There are some instances where carrying inventory may be better for you.  If you already have the space to hold inventory and you can make a greater profit buying the inventory upfront, then it could be a good option.  Generally, for small or new businesses, this is a good option if you are branding generic products, such as t-shirts or totes.  Carrying inventory also gives you more control and oversight over product quality.

2. Choose Your Store Type

Purchase Buttons

If you have a very limited product line or products are only available for a limited time, you may want to simply embed a Purchase Button within your website or landing page.  Many payment gateway providers offer this capability, such as Paypal or Stripe.  You can read more about Payment Gateways here.

Affiliate Links

Affiliate links are special links that are unique to your business to products on other supplier pages.  When a someone clicks the link and buys from the supplier, the unique link that brought that buyer to them signals that you will get the designated commision.  In order to obtain affiliate links, you need to enter into an agreement with the supplier, either directly or indirectly through third party affiliate networks.  Amazon is one of the most popular Affiliate programs out there for link products in this way.  However, the commissions that they offer are rather low.

Affiliate links make the most sense if (a) you are simply looking to offer value to your customers rather than make a high income or (b) you are focusing on a few high-commission affiliate partners that you can promote.

Online Store Builder Platforms

Finally, the most common way that Ecommerce businesses build out their online stores is working with a Platform provider.  Ecommerce platforms give you the templates and tools to build your online store without any coding or web design skills.  Step 3 gets into this more.

3. Select a Store Platform

There are many variables to consider when selecting the platform for your online store.  Make sure to do your research.  Look at competitive sites and other online stores to see which ones you like.  For a detailed review of the top platforms available to see what may be best for you, you can read this review of the 8 Best Ecommerce Platforms.

Platforms to consider for building your online store

4. Understand State Taxes and Other Legal Requirements

Before you start to sell products you need to determine your sales tax and other legal requirements.  You will also need to obtain a Sales Tax registration ID in the state(s) where your business operates.  Check to see how often you need to file sales taxes to your states tax department.

There are certain types of business activities that require federal or state permits, licenses, and/or additional paperwork in order to operate legally. Some examples include medical practices, attorney practices, restaurants, certain types of construction companies, and others. All businesses involved in activities that are regulated by the federal government will be required to obtain a federal license.

For information on federal business licenses, visit the Small Business Administration website.

5. Payment Gateway

Once you have your Sales Tax ID, you can select a payment gateway provider.  Depending on the Online Store Platform you have selected for your store, you may have payment gateway providers recommended to you.  If not, there are many to choose from.

Online payment gateways are offered by a variety of Financial Services companies.  A Payment Gateway is an online merchant service software application where providers authorize credit card or direct payments.  This allows for seamless online transactions between a variety of different sellers and purchasers.

Be sure to read the Top 5 Payment Gateways.

Customer Acquisition

Creating an online store is the start.  Once your store is up and running, it’s time for developing a Customer Acquisition plan.  Unfortunately, it is not true that if you simply build it, they will come.  You have to find your potential customers and entice them to come to your store.   It’s important to put together a marketing strategy and execution plan to generate awareness and trial for your store.  If you don’t have experience with this, you can find this helpful article with 5 Marketing Essentials for Customer Acquisition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *